Poets logo

Break It

It was never whole to begin with

By Ruby LocrePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Break It
Photo by Nicola Fioravanti on Unsplash

Take my heart in hand and smash it again, I challenge you

I've been in this place but never remember what to do

You know every piece of me and move to make it whole

I can only see what those before you already stole

The holes and bits missing from the puzzle as you try

To make a picture from my tears and hear me lie

Forgetting that I'd promised to stop repeating the same things

Shaking for fear of what you seeing my full picture brings

I promised I'd be quiet while you're here but come morning you'll be gone

After everything we've done I'll sing that same old song

Every flaw you've convinced me to forget laid on the table

Filling in my missing pieces as you become a distant fable.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Ruby Locre

Hobbyist writer and college student living in the eastern United States. I write short fiction pieces on a regular basis with varying themes.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.