Poets logo

Boy in the striped pyjamas

Poem

By Shanece McCormickPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Hello!

I am new to this as you can see so I thought I would start off with a poem I wrote on the movie and book "The Boy In The Striped Pyjamas" Hope you enjoy!

Im Bruno the 8 year old German boy

Who sees guns as a common toy.

I love my 3 friends

We hang out on weekends

So still I find life full of joy

I came home to my family one day

Seeing my maid packing my things away

I wasn't happy about this

It just made me reminisce

Especially about when my friends and I used to play.

We travelled on a train more than a mile

That far away from home isn't my style

We arrived near a camp

It looked muddy and damp

Whilst I stood on white tile

I looked out the window and saw a farm

Also strange people in striped pyjamas to my alarm

I wanted to see the children.

But dad kept them stilled in

Surrounded by soldiers and firearm

Mum and dad were arguing a lot

The air was the smell of rot

The soldiers creeped me out

Gretel was changing without doubt.

And I questioned Jews were in camp for what?

I met a same aged boy on the other side

I betrayed him in my house and lied

He told me about his father

Helping him look I'd rather

So I dug a whole under the fence nice and wide

I got caught up with the other Jews

They didn't even have any shoes

I didn't know my fate

Not knowing it's too late

I was then in a room with old screws

Our clothes were demanded to be taken off.

Theres sounds of a old mans sickly cough.

My parents found me gone

My mother was feeling torn

The deadly gas had been lift off

They weren't going to save me at this rate

Even after my father ran through the gate.

I died with a Jewish boy

My life is now not full of joy.

As for my family it was too late.

Written by- Shanece McCormick.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.