Poets logo

Boxing Day

Fiddling with the projector.

By John GilroyPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Like
Boxing Day
Photo by Alex Litvin on Unsplash

Clara fiddling with her new projector the sketch was done after she had moved hence her ghostly prescence in the image. The chair is stable and present in the image. The chair is stable and present. In my mind it has stronger lines and features than what the human has. That's because I can physically see it in front of me as I draw. The image of Clara is only visible when I think about how she looks in my memory of that moment. The whole scene and atmosphere of a memory that I think about often.

When we sat in Clara's room a number of years ago now.

We were sat on her floor. There were pillows around us and we sat on them. There were sketchbooks and blankets the only lighting came from the candles that surrounded us.

I have a few different versions of the memory.

There was the idea that I had, had a rough day at work and this scene was created by Clara to comfort me. Another was that I was doing some work for a university portfolio. The third one world have come from me getting ready the night before I flew to Noraway for my uncles wedding.

The first two are the most reliable, though it could be a memory for all three. It definitely happened around the same time, possibly the same week.

Though not the same night.

It would have occurred in January 2020.

Around the time I was going to university interviews, working and being stressed about being able to relax.

It reminds me of Manchester. The effort that it took me to get there. The train up to Nottingham, the coach up to Manchester. Seperate memories but for some reason the seem to over lap.

It was a busy period of time.

Things constantly on my mind and myself in my body constantly moving. I remember getting the coach up to Manchester just as COVID had been announced as a an issue for the world. I remember my trip up to Nottingham, the antique shop, pub and basketball with a mate from my art Foundation year. I remeber a train ride up to Leeds with Clara for my interview. I was told by someone that I had, had the best one there. I remember my Nottingham mate saying that I am now wifed up/ off with my new relationship with Clara.

I remember Jazz cafes and dinners out and around London Town. Soho, Convent Garden, Camden and Balham.

Blue Suits, black hoodies and leather jackets.

I remember Oxford Street walks. Piccadilly Line excursions. Leaf tattoos from evenings to remember.

I remember everything and don't want to forget a moment.

Balham Bowls Club and Franco Manco with Emma. Clara's best friends and a close one of mine. Film photographs that I still keep on a bookshelf's side.

The smokers.

Am I right?

"Do you like what I wrote?" I asked Clara.

"Of course I do, do you not?" she replied.

"Of course I do. I wrote it, but I asked you because it's about you. It's about my view of things at the time. The inner workings of my mind. It was refreshing to write.".

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

John Gilroy

I'm a writer from London, now based in Leeds. Anecdotes, trians of thought and poems are what I write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.