Poets logo

Born-again

Musings of a sea anemone

By Susan LeePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Sea anemone (Actiniaria)

Born-again

I am reincarnated as a sea anemone,

(scientific name Actiniaria).

Destined to a 50-year lifespan of being constantly engulfed, tossed back and forth and submerged by the crashing waves,

I woe the fact that I am doomed to this volatile, ephemeral existence.

-------

Sometimes, I emerge from the depths, breaking the surface

To get a taste of the delicious, turquoise air.

Voraciously, greedily, I lick the oxygen and through these opportunities sustain the green algae with which I have a lonely symbiotic relationship, exposing it to rays of warm sunlight.

Sometimes, in this process of life, I am tugged further away from shore by the diaphanous, onyx-hued currents in the night.

This vicious cycle continues.

------

But this one fortuitous time, my tentacles become freed from the aggressive, pointed, unrelenting curls and clutch of the crests

And I somehow climb safely onto the seabed, precariously resting my being on the crystalline, placid, emerald surface -

transcendence.

*If you liked the poem, feel free to leave a tip so I can continue to write in the future :)

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Susan Lee

I graduated from Stanford University in 2002 with a BA in International Relations and a minor in Psychology and have a Masters in International Affairs from Georgetown University.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.