Poets logo

borderline.

a poem about borderline personality disorder—as an individual with the diagnosis. BPD is intense and convoluted, as expressed in this poem. enjoy:)

By zoe frenchmanPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
2

living with the persistent stressor of borderline;

induces a lifestyle of polar opposition to benign;

living with a spectrum of issues that intertwine;

and racing thoughts that rarely align;

can send a spasm of shivers down my spine;

and are always ensured to blindly shine;

and consume my mind, where there’s a shrine;

dedicated to the endless grapevine;

of each barrier that this illness invokes;

the disorder’s distortions are a genuine hoax;

despite my rational knowledge of the skew;

of my perceptions of myself and of others, too;

and that not all of my speculations are true;

my emotional state is a putrid stew;

of grotesque components, rotting like mildew;

and it’s grueling when others misconstrue;

my psychotic outbursts—which i admit are undue;

as intentionally deceitful or malicious;

when the reality is that it’s not me that’s vicious;

but it’s these thoughts that are truly fictitious;

and remain vehemently pernicious;

i’ve been forced to balance this for many years;

my childhood was spent being rejected by peers;

and my varying environments all grind my gears;

because of excessive amounts of sensitivity and fears;

and the sounds of success or supportive cheers;

have maintained dead silence within my ears;

the basic task of lifting the shears;

to cut out the aspects towards my cascades of tears;

can be entirely treacherous to endure;

and despite the fact that my intentions are pure;

a profusion of people cannot comprehend;

how much time that i’ve been mandated to spend;

how much energy that i’ve been forced to expend;

how many situations in which i’ve had to pretend;

like i wasn’t rapidly falling off the deep end;

like all of problems didn’t completely transcend;

my sheer capacity for being able to tend;

for the issues themselves, and the make-up of my brain;

and the phoniness merely induces further strain;

of my overall ability to remain;

composed, as well as to maintain;

the palpable sense of my disdain;

the mental, emotional, and physical pain;

the guilt that i feel whenever i complain;

the burden that comes when i to try to explain;

why i feel like i’ve been violently slain;

why i feel like i’ve been struck by a train;

why my mental forecast is purely rain;

why i feel like i’m tied by borderline’s chain;

why the absence of clarity;

can provide me with vulgarity;

and a total lack of prosperity;

my thoughts are onerous to ascertain;

and can drive me to go absolutely insane.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

zoe frenchman

I’m Zoe, I’m 21, and I’m an aspiring writer, filmmaker, musician, & mental health advocate. I’m a poet and content writer currently enrolled in the Creative Writing BFA program at Full Sail U!

LinkTree (all social and professional links)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Carol Townend2 years ago

    Very well written and expressed. There is a very deep emotion in this poem. It shows a great understanding of the term 'borderline.'

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.