Poets logo

Boogeyman

My poem here is about the most swept under the rug stories for young kids we don’t talk about like we should. Most of the world has had a boogeyman in their room.

By Aries BentleyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Boogeyman
Photo by František G. on Unsplash

I hear him growing bigger as time go by

Feeding his demons alcohol tonight

Unhappy with himself so he rather pick a fight

He patiently waits until the moonlight

He’s words getting more aggressive

Starting to regret his dark lessons

Drinking away for his medicine

Feels less as a man so he stressing

He creeps through the night

But knows how to hide in plain sight

A bad man but a protector in daylight

He knows just how to trick your mind

You think he’s fine

But he’s damaged in the mind

Hurt people hurt people, I’m in his line

The boogeyman is in my room

I’m gonna tell on you

I hope you know what karma gonna do

To you

I feel his presence even more now

Feel the negative energy in this house

Begging is all you hear from her mouth

She left for help, I was quite as a mouse

Now he’s calling my name, saying come out

Thought he’ll protect me, didn’t know this what he’s about

I’m so confused why am I the one he choose?

To put in his line for him to abuse?

Why is it dark in here, can we turn on the lights?

Why is your print on my back side?

Keep your hands to yourself like I keep mine

Please no boogeyman don’t change me tonight...

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.