Poets logo

Blue Abyss

If you could only see...

By A. R. AmbrosiPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

I dreamed of her last night

She was a vision

The humidity

Had touched her hair

And wild curls sprang untamed

Bouncy springs of hair

Stuck out at odd angles

Her cheeks were pink and warm

And her eyes sparkled

With excited joy

She was wild

And fierce

Pure passion

And so, so beautiful

I tried to look closer

What colour did those eyes

Appear today?

Turquoise?

Teal?

No

Aqua

A tropical ocean

Some distant paradise

That spoke of warmth

And pleasure

Her white skin

The sun-bleached sand

Her embrace, a heat

That rivaled even sunshine

How I longed to drown

In her warmth again

And as I looked

Those eyes changed

Did she realise we were dreaming?

Dark clouds formed over oceans

Cobalt?

Navy?

No

Clouds clear a bit

And clear, deep sapphire

Gazes back at me

Lovingly

Longingly

If you could only see

How blue

Her eyes can be...

She's melancholy

She knows

She can't reach me here

This blue

Is such a bittersweet colour

So beautiful

But haunting

Poetic blue

There's a sadness in those eyes

I long to reach her

To place

The contentment of soft grey

Or the excitement of aqua

Or the joy of grass green

Or the fulfillment of lilac

In those eyes

Anything but that blue, blue

Sadness

Even in my dreams I can't reach her

To brush tears from her warm cheek

To soothe tension from her head

To kiss joy into those eyes

I content myself with gazing

Into that blue abyss

Frozen in photographs

Frozen by grief

The colour of longing

Of love

Of sadness

Beckoning me

Calling me on

Leading me back home

love poems
1

About the Creator

A. R. Ambrosi

I like to write, if that makes me a writer, then rock on!

I started writing as a child because I ran out of stuff to read. So, I only write stuff that I like. If you like it too, awesome! Enjoy! ^_^

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.