Poets logo

Blooded With Broken Fortitude

Forbidding my baseless conjecture

By Colleen Millsteed Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
5
Image courtesy of Pixabay

She shines with the sunlight in her hair,

A smile beaming across her bronzed face,

Happiness bubbles away like champagne just beneath her skin,

As she realises that peace is now hers to embrace.

***

The darkness hides where it can no longer cause it’s damage,

Locked behind that steel door within her mind,

Shuttered with black lace and red roses,

Even then it’s lucky she’s so regal and kind.

***

I tried to persuade her to discard the darkening tendencies,

But she just smiled at me, her patience intact,

As the fortune chest of her wisdom,

Allowed me to glimpse through a very small crack.

***

She knows she is blooded with broken fortitude,

Imperfection is her classic style,

Moving sensuously through the worst storms,

Free of balancing the scales for awhile.

***

She dances through the hours riding the breeze,

Not an eyebrow out of place,

Perfection in my eyes but not in hers,

All due to the idea that’s she’s a work of art, part grace, part disgrace.

***

She smears the night sky with the fog,

A camouflage that suits her current mood,

Playful, mischievous, even a little dramatic,

Honest to a tee, I’m always in awe of her gracious attitude.

***

She’s the life of the party,

Swooning around the room of strangers,

Her lilting laughter the chorus background,

Snubbing her nose at the thought of dangers.

***

Naivety is her sense of preservation,

I argue this point to her often,

She giggles like it’s no mean feat,

And by the end of the argument, it’s me that must soften.

***

I give up, letting her run her own race,

Who am I to scold and lecture,

She throws at me her favourite response,

“Leave me be, your words are nothing more than baseless conjecture.”

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

inspirational
5

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman about a year ago

    I like it! Well written and interesting!!

  • As always pure perfection from you Colleen

  • Woww! This was so amazing!

  • Alex H Mittelman about a year ago

    Very well written! I enjoyed it very much!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This is excellent, my friend. Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.