Poets logo

Blood Feud

A Narrative Poem

By Gary RagnarssonPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
16

Darkness.

Ravens cry, wolves howl,

Thunder erupts from deep within the clouds.

***

Lightning cracks,

Illuminating the sky,

And with it,

The intent to kill glistens along the edge of my blade.

***

Sulphur,

I smell sulphur.

Deep and rich,

Conjuring memories of her in the springs.

Or are they visions?

Visions of hope for what comes after?

***

Crack!

Thor beats his hammer once more,

And in the brief light I see the figure rush toward me.

His strike comes from the shadows,

Axeblade shrouded in smoke.

***

Instinct,

Deflect,

The clash of steel on steel roars louder than the world-serpent in my ears,

Like a thousand times before.

***

I want to live.

I need to live.

Love begs that I not fail,

Not so soon after opening to it.

***

I see her in my minds eye.

Hair flowing,

Golden as the treasure I’ve courted,

Flickering in the embers.

***

Another strike.

This one finds flesh.

His, not mine,

My blade thirsty for blood.

***

A taste for it,

A hunger for more.

Hatred.

***

Anger swells,

The world grows red,

Before me he stands, dripping in scarlet sweat.

***

Rage bubbles from deep within, summoning growls from my chest,

Erupting in a roar of my own,

Louder,

Angrier,

More furious than Fenrir himself.

***

Boom!

From the mountain spews sparks and flame,

Molten rock pouring out from its gaping mouth against the blackness of the sky.

***

Along it’s eruption I too explode,

Slicing out with the sword my father left me.

It tears muscle,

Severs ligament.

Blood spews from the jugular.

***

Calm,

Peaceful.

He drops to his knees.

A life of anguish extinguished in a moment.

***

A flame grown cold against the heat of battle.

***

Blood,

Everywhere.

It swells beneath my feet,

Drips from our blades,

Forms pools in the warming rock beneath his lifeless body.

***

I breathe.

It’s done.

The feud is settled.

***

In my mind I see her eyes,

Her perfect nose,

Her smile.

That golden hair flows in the breeze,

Her hands brush wildflowers as she glides toward me in the morning sun.

***

I fall to my knees.

Her weight between my arms fades to emptiness,

Her aroma replaced with the metallic scent of war.

***

From my heart rests the blade of his axe,

From the wound pours all my love along a stream of blood.

Heat burns my lungs as I breathe my last breath.

The world fades to black behind my tiring eyes.

***

Now it’s done.

Now the feud is settled.

Now my family are safe.

***

Their futures unfold before me as the Valkyries summon me home.

Carrying me to the gates of Valhalla atop winged horses,

Where Odin awaits watchfully in his grand hall.

surreal poetry
16

About the Creator

Gary Ragnarsson

Deep thinker, stoic, and writer from the UK, sharing everything from philosophical insights to my most intimate, personal stories.

In a world consumed by chasing more, I’m over here embracing less on purpose.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)10 months ago

    This is Great❤️😉❗

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    Wow! Enough said... No seriously, this was quite a tale that had me going all the way till the end. Great job!

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Veronica Coldironabout a year ago

    I am absolutely smitten by this poem! Not only does it resonate with legends, it reminds me in some small way, (mostly the vivid imagery) of Beowulf, only somehow... better. ;)

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    This is a great read - the imagery is striking. :)

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Fantastic and the imagery was perfect!!! Loved it!!!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    This was epic!! The descriptions really pulled me in. Great work :)

  • Excellent words, good chance or winning or placing in the challenge Gary, something I could never do 🙂

  • Whoaaa, this was awesomeeee!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.