Poets logo

Blizzard

My writing is a blizzard

By Sally HurrellPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like
Image by Jerzy Górecki from Pixabay

Without warning, words fly out of me

Thick and fast.

I'm absorbed

Inspired

I don't want to do anything else.

I can't stop

It's relentless.

Indestructible, yet temporary all at the same time.

Words tearing the world apart with their presence

In good ways, and bad.

Then somehow, the weather will change.

I'll stop as quickly as I began.

The snow will settle, and I will take in its glow, feel inspired, and appreciate the way its presence makes the world a better place.

There won't be another storm for days, weeks, months.

The residue melts away.

I need it back

I do everything I can think of to bring back the blizzard of words

I need the storm to function.

I even move to places where the snow is more likely to fall.

I'm a fool to ever think I control the words

For the storm controls me.

Because still I wait for it

Outside,

Sniffing the air,

Eyeing the clouds,

I'll take anything I can get.

I tell myself I'll be satisfied if I catch just one flake on my tongue

I'm that desperate for the snow to start.

But it's never enough.

I always want more.

Thick, heavy flakes of snow

Words.

Every

Single

Day.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Sally Hurrell

Sally is a budding author who recently decided to share her work with the world and see if it goes anywhere. A keen backpacker to 60 countries, when she's not travelling she's living in Guildford, UK, and trying to read as much as possible.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.