Poets logo

Blink

Destruction Progress Destruction

By LittleTree OppyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

When I blink I don’t see the sidewalks or streets. I see tall grass, wildflowers, trees, a bunny.

Blink

There are no cars or fumes. Behind my eyes is the warm glow of the sun on the earth. I smell the strong scent of pine, dirt, and sweet hay.

Blink

Blinded by the harsh gray and bleak black reflecting off the buildings that block out the sun and moon. Bright lights have replaced the stars

Blink

Memories of laying and watching the enormous fluffy white clouds lollygag their way across the sky. The feel of the crisp breeze on my skin. Leaves crinkle under my feet as the air grows cold.

Blink

Harsh noises insult my ears, sirens, breaks screech, people shouting, shuffling of those around you. All muffling the voices of the past, distracting us from our path.

Blink

The songs of all the birds deep in my soul awaken to block out the clatter. Crickets and grasshoppers join in, echoing the lullaby that once was.

Blink

They see progress.

Blink

I see destruction.

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

LittleTree Oppy

Strong Educated Independent Woman. Mom, Wife, Sister, Aunt, Neice, Tree Hugging Hippy, Animal Lover, Environmental Activist, Gardener, Artist, Writer, Spreader of Joy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.