Poets logo

Black Water

I am on the edge

By Andrea N. BrownPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - August 2022
42
Black Water
Photo by Thor Alvis on Unsplash

I am on the edge of depression,

Knees pulled up to my chin,

My toes inch closer to the black water.

I can almost feel it lapping at my feet.

But there is also the breeze,

The branches of the willow tree

Swaying gracefully, whispering softly;

The birds singing their playful tune.

I tip my toes forward and feel the chill.

It shoots up my legs, my body, aims for the heart.

I gasp, my heart quickens, then slows.

I don't pull away, don't see how I could.

The willow branches reach out to me,

The breeze becomes wind, pushing me back,

My eyes close, my toes dig in, rooted there.

I stay until I feel nothing at all.

sad poetry
42

About the Creator

Andrea N. Brown

Always trying to live my coziest life. Fueled by coffee, long walks, stacks of books, watching the birds, and staring at trees. Writing keeps me alive.

Current inspirations: Billy Collins, Mary Oliver, Carlos Ruiz Fafon and Lily King

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Annie Edwards 2 years ago

    This really resonated with me on so many levels. I love it! Excellent piece ♥️

  • Ro2 years ago

    Love this. There’s so much emotion.

  • Barry Penfold2 years ago

    Excellent. Could relate to this situation very well. Loved the thought processes and the flow . More please.

  • Stephan A Harris2 years ago

    Well done on your top story mate its a heartfelt and sad poem. I've looked out on the sea and thought very similar things.

  • Sometimes we must tear up our roots to plant ourselves in better soil.

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Kat Thorne2 years ago

    Wow, great job!

  • W. Joe O'Banion2 years ago

    Beautiful

  • Amystic2 years ago

    Written beautifully :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.