Poets logo

Birthday

A poem

By Josey PickeringPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
4
Birthday
Photo by Brooke Lark on Unsplash

Another trip around the sun,

another year of life had begun.

I reflect upon the day I was born,

and yet I stop to mourn.

Not just those I’ve loved who’ve come & gone,

But my life before another dawn.

I think about the paths I didn’t take,

or hiding myself for others sake.

I never planned this far ahead,

to be painfully honest, thought I’d be dead.

The worlds fought against me,

so much people don’t even see.

Yet I’ve survived the darkest nights

and put up a thousand fights.

I’m ready to start again, take new steps

and pull more strengths from my depths.

Happy birthday to me, I’ve come so far

Im lighting the way, my own North Star.

inspirational
4

About the Creator

Josey Pickering

Autistic, non-binary, queer horror nerd with a lot to say.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.