Poets logo

Bird with Clipped Wings

An Original Poem

By Dee MeinvillePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Bird with Clipped Wings
Photo by Muhammad Murtaza Ghani on Unsplash

I am a bird with clipped wings,

Caged and imprisoned in a monotonous pseudoreality.

So numb, I can no longer muster the will to sing.

I go through the motions because it's expected of me.

Every song merely a failed attempt to lift the spirits.

Exhausted with the effort it takes to exist.

Lyrics come out, but no one really hears it.

How does one fight when they don't even have fists?

Make the cage any beautiful color you like,

But it doesn't change the fact that I am trapped.

Slave to an unseen master, in constant fear of the strike.

Wander only so far or you'll get zapped.

I am a bird with clipped wings, yearning to be free.

Why, oh why can't they just let me be?

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Dee Meinville

"If I loved you less, I might be able to talk about it more."- Mr. Knightley, Austen's Emma

Struggling med student, tortured soul (what poetess isn't), devoutly Catholic. I write to express what goes unsaid and to stand for the voiceless.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.