Poets logo

Beyond the Gate

Remembering Mother

By Sharon J. El MouhibPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Tim Hill

Beyond the Gate

On a cool October day, God slipped me into your waiting arms.

Warm love, soft kisses with soothing words, and a caring caress.

Swift hands braiding hair, smoothing lotion on dry knees,

These are my memories.

Prayers and verses taught, homework help that can't be bought.

Loving hugs, and spankings too for sassiness way past due,

These are my memories too.

A look of pride that filled me up

when the world punched holes in my paper cup.

Wise matriarch who taught by example,

from cooking to motherhood you were awesome.

Sewing jumpers and prom dresses way into the night,

and then pressing nappy hair at first light.

When my world fell apart, you helped me

find the pieces to make a new start.

No words that the dictionary can hold will describe what you meant to me,

How lucky I am today mother, to have these memories.

And though time has slipped away and the hour is getting late,

our story dear mother has no end, for I know

that you wait for me just beyond the gate.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Sharon J. El Mouhib

Hello, my name is Sharon and I am a writer. I love to write short stories, poems, and I am working on my first novel and aiming for end of year deadline. Please subscribe to get notifications of new works as they become available. Thanks!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.