Poets logo

Beyond Black and White

The colors of our society

By Makalah PierrePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
This image was taken at my first district one act competition. Here is the director and the cast right before we went on stage to perform a one act about a group of diverse kids conquering adversity in a broken school

Let’s look beyond the color of our skin,

and resist the urge to fight.

Maybe grow beyond the depth of our sin

so we can finally unite.

Red white and blue may be the place

where justice reigns despite your race,

but don't let pride get the best

of you, or me, or us, or we

because in the end, it may dissolve your hue,

and you'll be blind to the real colors of society.

For instance, look at me.

My skin is dark like coffee,

A caramel mocha swirl

My hair is black like midnight, add some water it will curl.

My broad hips and flat chest will set me out from all the rest,

but when I write then I digress, it’s like we venture on a quest.

And on this search, we try to seek

the colors we have buried deep

within our souls we try to hide

our inner rainbows that give us pride.

social commentary
2

About the Creator

Makalah Pierre

Just a college student trying to raise money for tuition through her passion for writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.