Poets logo

Betrayal

The feeling you get when you’ve been betrayed. By those closest to you.

By Jasmine ZunigaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Betrayal
Photo by Christopher Sardegna on Unsplash

Forgiveness is strong

Powerful, some would say

Betrayal though

Is also strong and powerful

I would say

To be uplifted and comforted

By those you uplift and comfort

To being torn and stabbed in the back

And realizing that the anger you feel in the inside

Isn’t anger but grief

Grief of feeling the pain and sadness from a friendship that you thought would have lasted for a lifetime

Then you find yourself

Spirialing

Jumping from one friend to another

To fill a void

To avoid the emptiness left by another

Pain , sadness , grief

It’s all the same to me

Forgiveness though —

Pains me ..

Do my feelings not matter ?

Why should I forgive those that hurt me ?

Because it’ll drop the weight and free .. me?

It’ll free me from the shackles they’ve placed on me

Or is it me that placed the shackles and dragged them here with me

Open my eyes and feel the freedom it’ll give me once I release the shackles from me

Betrayal is painful but also a lesson

A lesson for me to teach

To teach is to learn twice I speak

I release those that have wronged me

&& thinking on it …

I wouldn’t go back and reverse time to change it

For these are the lessons that made me ..

Me

And for that I give my greatest gratitude for those that have wronged me

I forgive those that I’ve placed in my parents place

Because they too abandoned me

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.