Poets logo

Beside the Fire

Seeing the Light

By Kaydie PaschallPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Adonyi Gábor from Pexels

The world began as darkness.

Life is hard.

People can be cruel.

Circumstances can be difficult.

Best efforts can end in failure.

On any given day

There are numerous reasons

To rail and weep.

Only you can decide

How much time and energy

You'd like to devote to

Those two activities.

For while

I'll grant you all the reasons

You want to be granted...

There are really no excuses.

I can say that

Because there is also light.

Life is a miracle in and of itself.

People can be kind

And generous and amazing.

Circumstance will conspire for us

As much as they will against us

And they are constantly changing.

Our worst mistakes can

Teach us

Our greatest lessons and

Sometimes even result in

The most incredible blessings.

On any given day

There are numerous reasons

To laugh and sing.

Only you can decide

How much time and energy

You'd like to devote to

Those two activities.

I will not lie...

It is a battle.

And let me warn you

I fight dirty.

The next time

You are cruel to me

I'm going to pray for you...

That God will save you

From whatever pain was so great

You felt the need

To make me bear it with you.

Yep that's right!

The fervent prayer of a woman

Who loves her God.

Try to defeat that...

(visualize ant versus atomic bomb.)

I have my joy and peace

Shipped in daily and

My supplier well, let's just say

He's bigger than you and

Significantly more powerful.

Wisdom is my favorite weapon

Though I am still being trained

To use it properly.

I am an eager if not excellent student.

There is dark and there is light.

And every day you have a choice

Of where you want to dwell...

Physically

Mentally

Emotionally

Spiritually.

Just so you know...

Darkness is temporary.

The light will always defeat it.

What are you bringing to the battlefield today?

Light or darkness

Hope or despair

Love or hate.

What's in that bag of thought and plans

You packed for this weeks journey?

Me...I have graham crackers

Chocolate

And marshmallows (figuratively speaking)

And you, well now that you are here...

What say we set the world on fire

I'm craving some smores!

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Kaydie Paschall

Training Consultant, Disaster Preparedness Advocate, Poet, Wordsmith, Humorist...I evoke feelings, grins and giggles and on my best days thought and share the jewels and gems of lessons learned along the way. - Disaster Drama Queen

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.