Poets logo

Beneath the Surface

Unique Comforts

By Jade SummersPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Like
Shutterstock Contributor-Oak Nakrub

If I were a stranger looking

In from the outside through eyes

That cannot see beyond the surface

Then I might think that there was only

Chaos to behold instead of the truth

Which is that what appears so plainly to be

a sink full to the Brimming with greasy pans

and dirty Dishes as if a ravenous horde of gremlins

Devoured A victory feast after battle, and

the laundry baskets Overflowing with clothes that reek of

Musky male and caked with dirt and grime

spilling toThe bathroom floor, and splintered

Light filtering through a cracked window

Pane in the living room making the

Multitude of dust particles shimmer and dance

Between the gossamer strands of cobwebs

in the corners, And the mysterious unidentifiable

Stains on the floors from a thousand accidental

Splashes when seen through my seasoned eyes

Are instead The aftermath of a home cooked meal, crafted with

Love and care on a cold Midwest autumn Day meant

to warm my family from the inside out, Remnants of

my husband’s sweat after cutting the grass repairing slipped bike chains

and checking the oil on my jeep paired with my

Sons’ puppylike aroma born of long days spent

Outside growing strong as they tumbled and rolled in

The mud and squished sand between their toes

While also collecting it in every pore and hair

Follicle On trips to the beach because my men are all

Creatures of the sea, and three generations of a blended

Family coming together For holidays with bodies in every room of

the house generating the heat of a million suns while

balancing overful plates of delicacies that

come only once a year while wading through

piles of shiny discarded gift wrap to create traditions

lined with precious memories that celebrate the simple joy

Of each other, and gatherings of game nights highlighted

With inside jokes that made friends spit their drinks out

In excited shrieks collapsed into side-splitting laughter

from sharing ancient Stories, and a family water fight

That got a little out of hand as an errant ballon missed

Its intended target instead slamming into the once flawless

Front picture window, and little cousins playing master chef and

Mad scientist with any and everything they can

Find but shouldn’t be touching as it bubbles

And oozes into the floor in a sticky mess while

I stand by and shake my head in amusement.

If I were a stranger, then all the messiness in my

life Would seem like chaos but instead

All of the madness and mayhem you see

in my Space are my elements of peace, the beautiful

Consequences Of my family’s indelible footprint,

The culmination of my love,

My one true source of Comfort.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jade Summers

How I See Me: A Badass Goddess of Creation who navigates the obstacles of the Multiverse with ease.

How the World Sees Me (I think): A Sarcastic but Funny Wife, Mom, Blerd, and aspiring content creator-trying to survive, one day at a time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.