Poets logo

Believe in God

07/13/20

By Emery PinePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Believe in God
Photo by Davide Cantelli on Unsplash

Do you believe in heaven?

And do you believe in fate?

And do you believe in perfection?

And do you believe in feeling safe?

And do you believe in protection

From all the things you hate?

And I’m not sure if I

Believe in perfection,

At least not the kind that’s from heaven.

And I’m not sure if I

Believe in protection,

Maybe as chance,

But not provision.

And do you believe in God?

I believe he’s dead.

But that doesn’t mean that you aren’t Heaven sent.

And do you believe in love?

I think it’s only meant to fall apart.

And do you believe in happy?

I believe nothing lasts.

And do you believe in truth?

I believe in lies.

And since this is going to end,

You might as well pretend.

And since this is going to die,

You might as well just give it a try,

Even though I know how it ends and we all are just going to cry.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Emery Pine

I’m a poet with sprinklings of fiction. I write with the soul, so I hope you find it interesting and relatable

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.