Poets logo

Being You... Trying to Be Me

loser

By MJ DunnPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

Being you trying to be me is exhausting. Am I taller, stronger? I don't see that reflection. I only see you, trying to be me.

And I can't compete. I'll lose that race, you're the best me, I can be.

The mirror only shows me what I need to change

how much I have gained

my difference

my ordinariness

my ... whiteness

Being you trying to be me hurts more everyday, you curse it and blame me but try to be the same as me. I fall, cut and cry.

Not an object or desired, my life is 16 and tired. My creativity is killing me as it breaks my ability to sit through the same tired class, class wars, class stores, classless scores. I'm poor.

The mirror only shows me what I need to change

how much I have gained

my difference

my ordinariness

my ... whiteness

And I can't compete. I'll lose that race, you're the best me, I can be.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.