Poets logo

Being Uncomfortable

Our attachments in life lead us to make choices that arent coherent at times. Especially insecure attachments.

By Matthew MccaheyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
10
Being Uncomfortable
Photo by Quinton Coetzee on Unsplash

Avoid

Detach

These are the things I told myself

Whenever someone got too close

How could I have known this was wrong?

All I ever saw growing up taught me this was right

Was it right to avoid any uncomfortable feelings?

Was it okay to detach and end the relationship in my head?

Life doesn’t consist of black or white for me

Only believing my actions were wrong or right doesn't give me the healing I need

It has taken many years and many painful relationships for me to learn

The lessons that were always there

I wasn’t the problem, and neither were they

My insecure attachments drove a wedge between us

By chi nguyen on Unsplash

It dehumanized them down to red flags

That gave me the green light to go

But my truth is this

I was uncomfortable with them getting too close, too intimate

So, I drank to avoid processing the feelings

I was uncomfortable because I saw no future with them

So, I detached without telling them

I was mentally gone long before my actions were clear

However, I've learned this

To become comfortable with processing the uncomfortable

To speak up for what I want

For what I need

Communication is a two-way street and I shut down my side

I had to take down the detour signs, the traffic cones, the barriers

But my street is finally open again

inspirational
10

About the Creator

Matthew Mccahey

I want to use stories and life experiences to allow others to be open about their own.

https://linktr.ee/Authormack729

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.