Poets logo

Before We Sleep

The story's over.

By Ivy RozenPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Will you sing me a lullaby?

And we can try again

Tomorrow, my friend

This ain’t the end of our story

Don’t you forget me!

No, not me

Oh, ain’t we quite a sight?

But who’s to say what is right?

What is wrong?

Sing me a song

Before we sleep

And all along

All we could keep

Were the memories of us

Can you keep up?

I can’t keep repeating myself

Over, and over, and over

It’s over!

But don’t you let me go

Over, and over, and over

I weep

But you will never know

Will you ever show

Your will to learn and grow

Past this man?

If you even can

Because I don’t know anymore

Past tense, so dense

All the false pretense

Are we pretending?

It’s all just a show

Are we still trying?

We try our best

But are we lying?

Just a test of our will

Lullabying to fill

Our insides dying to sell

What we ain’t buying

To kill the happy endings

The story’s over so close your eyes

It’s time to sleep now

We can keep trying again

Tomorrow, my friend

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Ivy Rozen

Writer and poet with published articles, email campaigning experience, teaching experience, and a completed poetry residency with Free Verse, where I finished my first book of poems, Runcation, on sale now at www.IvanaWrites.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.