Poets logo

Before and After

A poem of grief

By D'Shan BerryPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Before and After
Photo by Kristina Tripkovic on Unsplash

Is this what life was like before I met you?

Cold, and dark, and grey, and small, and bare.

For, since you've gone, I'm only left to wander

To and fro while reeling from despair.

The ache of missing you is ever present

It smolders like an ember in my heart

I feel I have become a dandelion,

As if one wish could scatter me apart.

I miss you like the burning of my lungs,

Deprived of breath and yearning to inhale.

I miss you like the tide would miss the moon,

Like my red-headed skin would miss its pale.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

D'Shan Berry

I love words. I love art. I love Jesus.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.