Poets logo

Been Had:

In collaboration with Jordan Murphy

By Saroyan ColesPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
5
Been Had:
Photo by Sergio de Paula on Unsplash

Let’s air something out,

I, tend

Not havin’ polished out lyrical mastery-

My inability to seamlessly

drop the sickest metaphor

is like a drop of water

in a bucket...

I’ll put my pen through hell,

actin’ all high-

Naw mighty as a sword

Wut reason do,

I have to be all

METAMALE

for?

I, can’t turn my back

(Be talked out)

facin’ the music,

is better than

trustin’ by word of mouth

Life’s carousel

is not done

playin’ wit me-

YET

taken the plunge,

I ain’t

a pinball machine

getting tilted

I’m

DISCONTENT

I, mean

I’m disconnected

Actively wilted:

uncontested, unimpressed, unmatched

I’m hopin’ in these bars;

as sober as judge

SUBTLE

I, mean stumble

with sending signals

to my brain

as my hands tremble for the inspiration

signing away my rights, like an autograph

Splashier of fountain pens

on a canvas like Jason Pollock

like an alcoholic

Last call’n

throwin’ ashes like Poseys’

on the old me!

Stayin’ put

I gotsta

(Take everything you got)

Beat me down to size

Beat out my brains

blow by blow

Beat into my head

STEP OFF,

dose of disrespect

Been had

Step outta the way

Mi casa

(My home)

is in the winners circle;

my influence is endlessness!

By Lucian Alexe on Unsplash

heartbreak
5

About the Creator

Saroyan Coles

I want to empower others with my writing. I have always dreamed of seeing my name, on something.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.