Poets logo

Been a while

-

By Angela HolmesPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Been a while
Photo by Robin Mathlener on Unsplash

It’s been a while

I realise

As the sun comes peeping through

It’s been a while

Since days were filled

With actual things to do

It’s been a while

Since I spoke aloud

My voice box croaks with dust

“It’s been a while”

I apologise

Explaining like I must

It’s been a while

My cheeks are weak

From smiling back to strength

It’s been a while

My eyes well up

From gazing at you at length

It’s been a while

And I’ve forgot

Do we shake or elbow tap?

It’s been a while

So social norms

Have fallen through the gap

It’s been a while

Since I’ve been scared

But it soon comes creeping in

So bear with me

As I will you

As we say how long it’s been

©Angela Holmes

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Angela Holmes

Actor/Writer/Jack of all trades.

From Manchester, living in London.

Working on my first novel - a dystopian YA set in a post-pandemic world, which I started back in 2017 and is now eerily relatable..

Huge bookworm and it's all my Nana's fault.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.