Poets logo

Beautiful Lies

Love is in the oxygen flowing into my chest, dancing with the smoke in my lungs

By Manic RantingsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Beautiful Lies
Photo by Thula Na on Unsplash

The city speaks volumes

To my chilled little ears

As the skyline glimmers off into the night sky

Blending in with the stars shimmering above the moon

Love is in the oxygen flowing into my chest, dancing with the smoke in my lungs

Taking me by the hand as I raise my pinky and do a little curtsey

It twirls me 'round like a princess in these scrubs

Swaying with me to the beat of traffic humming down these quiet sleepy streets

I love the way the words slide down it's parched tongue

Caressing my left cheek in it's soft, warm palm

Telling me beautiful lies that I want to hear forever and always.

Speak more lies to me and maybe they will become truths.

Tell me about the white daisies jumping around the fire in the forest

Tell me about the crimson roses stabbing at the child trying to pluck it

Tell me about the sun burning the flesh of anything that comes too close

Tell me.

~Manic Rantings

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Manic Rantings

Hi everyone! I'm new to vocal. I'm a poet and I hope you all enjoy my poems🥰

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.