Poets logo

Beating Heart

This poem contains imagery that may disturb some readers. 18+

By LycanPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
22
Image Credit: Dream by Wombo

I have thought about

Plunging my claws

Deep in your chest

And ripping out

A beating heart

Still racing with the thought

Of me touching you

I have told you

That I am this dangerous

That where my smile should be

Is a devouring maw full of

Needle-sharp teeth

And where gentle hands might have been

Are claws that are

No good to hold you with

Yet you continue to cite

The lack of crimson

On either of us

As your reason for

Being comfortable enough to

Wrap your arms around my middle

Lean your head into my chest

To hear my heart racing

With the thought of you

love poems
22

About the Creator

Lycan

21|Dark Romance and Poetry|He/Him

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    😮❗❗❗😉

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Powerful!

  • Beautifully expressed. I sure feel it. ❤️

  • Linda Rivenbark2 years ago

    Intense!

  • Real hungry!

  • Russell Ormsby 2 years ago

    Hi Sammy! What an interesting way to say 'I love you so much , I could eat you." Very original and entertaining way of finding a way to express emotions that are hard to put into words. Nice job my friend. Best wishes.

  • Bri Craig2 years ago

    This is so good!

  • Intense!! Great writing

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Dark, but amazing.

  • I love body horror. Thank you for sharing this poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.