Poets logo

Bear Love

...

By Melissa Angius SalvatorePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I wish I was a bear

So I could live to scare

I’d roam around the forest

And comb my thick brown hair

I wish I was a bear

So I could sleep in dens all day

And climb the trees and eat honey

While rangers look at me up there

I wish I was a bear

Unfortunately, I’m not

I’m a human, I have a rifle

And I shoot bears for fun. . .

But oh- How I still wish I was a bear!

How I would love it so

I would be a big grizzly

My fur would go frizzy

As I swam in the river-bed

I’d have huge jaws

And big fur paws

And a feisty glare and snare

I wish I was a bear

But just because I’m not

It does not mean, I cannot dream

That I could have been a bear.

If I was a bear

I would be the best bear there could be

I’d be happy, silly and wild

And all the people would smile

Because they too, would dream to be,

A bear, just like me…

A very scary

Forest roaming

Fur combing

Den sleeping

Tree climbing

Honey eating

Grizzly, Frizzy

Happy, wild, silly, swimming,

Huge jawed, massive pawed, glaring, snaring

Bear like me.

childrens poetry
Like

About the Creator

Melissa Angius Salvatore

Youth Justice Worker, Teacher. Writing a memoir. From beautiful Australia, with Italian heritage. Much love to you all and to all that send me tips and love for whatever wierd stuff comes out of my head, it is very much appreciated. xx Mel

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.