Poets logo

Battle Weary

Shhh I'm sleeping.

By Justin Mark DunfordPublished 3 years ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
2
Stealing a moment....

Battle weary

weather worn

a trip beyond your senses

a look forlorn

The bruises remind me

i reach for the aspirin

it knows me well

an accidental car crash

potato chips and garlic mash

i'm waking in circles

my footprints getting larger every time

i don't ever want to be boring

do you ever want to be remembered

or memorable

let's create some memories of our own

weather worn

war torn

yesterday's newborn

tomorrow's scorn

again i'm Bjorn

i point the finger more than i want

cynics and skeptics

in my baptismal font

i'm battle weary

barely managing my coffee and croissant

i feel like laughing

suck that good medicine down

i could never be my own hero

it costs me more to smile

then it does to frown

oh i'm just

an out of work clown

and the circus goes on...

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Justin Mark Dunford

Brisbane, Australia

singer for Artisan Kin (new album out) and upcoming solo works. whisky and shiraz lover

sucking the marrow out of life:)

Most of my stories are written stream of thought. an enjoyable process...hope you guys enjoy reading.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.