Poets logo

Bathing Suit

A thickly layered poem, filled with metaphor and symbolism. Enjoy.

By S.W. Published 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Bathing Suit
Photo by Dvision Picture on Unsplash

I turned the key, opened the door and tossed the keys in the trash.

Half passed the hour, so I rolled up my cuffs and started a bath.

I turned off the lights and-

I eased into the waters warm embrace.

Letting the liquid soak into the fibers.

I loosened my tie and threw it over the running faucet.

Lit my damp cigarette and slipped down the tub, till my ears were under water.

The quiet hum of water pushing on my eardrums had a mesmerizing sound.

Puffing on my cigarette like a steamboat smokestack.

In a moment I had the faintest inkling that I might’ve gone insane.

If any sane person might’ve seen me they’d surely have locked me in a cage.

Like a parakeet, with little cups of pills and saltine crackers.

But I didn’t care today, and I lived alone.

My hands floated to the top, I enjoyed the feeling.

I felt deprived of something, but I wasn’t sure of what.

Steady breathes made my lungs feel like ballasts, with every breath rising and falling into the water.

The doorbell rang.

And I burst up, flicked my cigarette in the toilet.

I don’t have a doorbell.

art
Like

About the Creator

S.W.

A poet by way of life. Words just came easy to me, though I may never write a bestseller. I just want you to feel understood. At the end of my work if we’re closer than when you started reading I’ve done my part.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.