Poets logo

Bars

It's Hoodie Season

By Michael J. HarrisPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

How...

They say, I got to dress a certain way.

But a suit and tie is not me.

I'm a hoodie type of guy.

Locs, twist outs, jeans type of guy.

But I got to code switch.

How...

When I code switch, I still Don't...

Get the job.

I guess, when they see me.

All they see is rap bars, drug dealing, loud voice, gang banging.

But that's not me.

I want to lead the youth, but they don't want to hear

Christian rap in the church booth.

Code switching in the church, I will not.

God is the boss, so who is you?

It's hoodie season and when I'm preaching,

I'm dressing in gym shoes cause I'm hooping with the youth

After service is over.

Hoodie wearing Christian go to Heaven.

My Bars are different, I'm creating my own Bar exam.

Creating my own job, I have that GOAT mindset in my jeans.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Michael J. Harris

I'm a young inspiring author and youth leader. I hope that through my YouTube and my writings that I can inspire the youth to both do and be more. Building on a ministry of stepping into the youth lives and allowing them to be themselves.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.