Poets logo

Back to the Present

The present is the gift of now

By TestPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Back to the Present
Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

I wrote this as I was in bed unable to sleep and couldn't shake away my thoughts focused on something that I thought was too important to let go.

But then this came out and I was more rested...

Tossing and turning

Hard to rest the mind

Stressors of the day

Are playing on rewind

The past is now my present

The present is forgotten

As my mind plays this game

The ripe has now become rotten

So quickly the past re-surges

So quickly I feel lost

Now I acknowledge the present

No matter at what cost

It is the present that will set me free

It is the present that will listen

The past only sees what went wrong

No past now as the truth has risen

In the presence I can think of you

In this moment I am yours

My heart is captivated and drunk

While my spirit rises and soars

I am renewed once again

I have also tasted death

I have chosen the stillness

In silence I hear my breath

* * * * *

Thank you for reading. May love bless you and keep you safe.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Test

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Test is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.