Poets logo

Back for Another

Sunny day

By Amy ChristiePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Back for Another
Photo by Agustin Gunawan on Unsplash

If I could take storms in a scarf,

hurl them beyond horizon,

I wouldn't look back to each thunder,

I wouldn't try

to outrun lightning

and the hail.

***

In every step I take in puddles,

there is regret,

sunshine melted

in dew of second chances

road to another,

or myself,

this second

comes again,

this second

I have lived

inside a different heart.

***

How can I lean on flowers

for the love

I feel dripping

on petals dusted

with heartache?

***

Trying to make my sunshine

left fingers scarred

my light was near,

storm came,

put out the will

lightning descended, drove away

last wish

that wanted to see butterflies,

last road back home,

back to my island

of happy thoughts

and no tomorrow.

***

The future never looked so near

each time I try to touch,

the bubble goes away,

is it a mirror only

of what I could become

if I listened to leaves,

chased bees

and sunny birds,

their feathers tell me there's a place,

one I can call my own

no matter if it's been today,

a decade,

or lifetimes ago.

***

Blue moon meets eyes,

flowers find soul words in the night

I try to sing,

I have no voice,

where have I left my song,

is it lost in the ocean,

or will it come floating with morning

on sunlit waves

with hopes and dreams?

***

Dream on and back,

step tenderly on grass

this whisper could foretell

where this breath takes you

and the next

will call fate to your side.

What will you tell,

what do you still wish

to come true

now and again?

***

© 2022 Amy Christie

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Amy Christie

Passionate writer and journalist, striving to create meaningful connections.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.