Poets logo

Baby Blues

There's a song even for the ones you never had a chance with.

By Jillian SpiridonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Baby Blues
Photo by Stella de Smit on Unsplash

I saw you dancing by yourself at the jukebox,

the eerie blue sheen coating your skin

in neon highlights that made you look alien,

and I couldn't take my eyes off of you.

You swayed back and forth to the beat,

some pop singer's take on Sinatra,

while I stayed in the shadows of the room

and waited for the right moment to pass.

Your bottle was half-empty, amber residue,

and your eyes widened a fraction to see

the unopened bottle I held in front of your face

while the singer belted out a refrain about love.

In another era, you might have smiled in a way

that welcomed me closer like a touch of a hand,

but your baby blues narrowed as if I had no right

even to offer you our world's kind of ambrosia.

The bottle hung from the tips of my fingers

as you turned and tread back to the bar,

and with your escape I wondered just

what the hell I had even wanted from you.

Your song fell softly to a close, much like

a hand letting go of another in peace,

but you were gone, the one who got away,

and all I had was a sad story to tell.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Jillian Spiridon

just another writer with too many cats

twitter: @jillianspiridon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.