Poets logo

Autumn in the Wild Wood

Where I Made My Home

By E.L. MartinPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Autumn in the Wild Wood
Photo by Matt on Unsplash

It was a cool Autumn morning

The dew still thick in the air

So breathable and clean

I filled my lungs with it

Feeling more satiated than I had in a long time

I was thankful for my son's insistence on going out this morning

Despite the early hour.

A fawn eating breakfast stood quietly in the field.

His mother just meters away

I took my son's hand and led him near

Though, neither of us bothered them.

As my son lost interest, I sipped my coffee.

Smooth, more latte-like than black for once.

Steam rolled from my mug and lips.

I closed its opening and breathed nature in once more.

As the sun rose, new fragrances tickled my senses;

Elderberry, pine, oak, and maple

Being lit like incense without burner or flame just the sun's aura and the light it gives.

An illuminating presence

Waking the Earth's creatures, tree, animal, and man alike.

A morning stroll provides the freshness needed to begin the day anew.

I made a decision to live in the wild wood, and I haven't regretted it.

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

E.L. Martin

Powered by Nature, Humanity, Humor, Food, Lifestyle, Fiction, and Culture; Oh, and a questionable amount of coffee.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.