Poets logo

Autonomy

A poem on rights

By Josey PickeringPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
4
Autonomy
Photo by Gayatri Malhotra on Unsplash

My body is no longer my own.

I am just another community garden,

ready to be sown.

There is a uterus within me,

that is no longer mine.

It’s stamped with an official seal

their’s until they resign

“Property of the Supreme Court.”

Though I am non-binary,

& identify as queer,

because I have a womb

I still must live in fear.

The time has turned back decades,

We have today to mourn

and tomorrow to sharpen our blades.

Your body is yours

and my body is mine.

We will keep fighting for our rights

no matter what plot you design.

social commentary
4

About the Creator

Josey Pickering

Autistic, non-binary, queer horror nerd with a lot to say.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.