Poets logo

Auto-Connaissance

Sonnet I

By J Mitchell LagarasPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

To understand, to comprehend, to know

With these three verbs that I may live sans strife

However fluent in these skills I grow

I may not ever learn to live my life

I know your goals, I see them every day

But I won't approach this ever endless aim

I'll never know exactly what to say

If I can't figure out what is my name

No matter how successful I become

Nor however much I come to learn

Until I realise my sign is numb

None of that which I have I'll ever earn

I will not take my mind up off this shelf

'Til I can firmly state "I know myself."

art
Like

About the Creator

J Mitchell Lagaras

Musician and polyglot. Passionate learner, aspiring thinker.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.