Poets logo

Authenticity

Pretense is a mask and I think we’re so used to seeing it, that we don’t know what to do when we encounter the real thing. So often we pretend to be something we’re not. I believe we connect in our vulnerability...

By EnspiredbyEdenPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

Some want to stay on the surface and don’t want to dwell in the depths of you

I struggled between this and I too realized I can’t relate to anyone if I lived on the surface of things. So often we are ok with pretense because it appears to be comfortable or safe.

I related to people when I went into my joys, my pains, only then it was a wonderful to feel alive and connected because we are human and we have many conditions.

You have to choose either to stay under or above the surface and I’m lying below, where no pretense dwells, there is no middle ground.

I chose to stay below the surface because the pretense doesn’t get me and I don’t get it anymore.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

EnspiredbyEden

Eden is a poet who writes poems about life, loss, heartbreak and healing. Poetry became a huge part of the healing process. She has mastered this art for everyone to read. She brings the pain and struggles of life to light.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.