Poets logo

Attention

Poem

By KK245Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Attention
Photo by Anne Nygård on Unsplash

As I am walking on the street with my friends I hear a group of boys call out.

For a second I think it’s for me but I turn to to my best friend next to me and realize it’s for her.

She’s the pretty one.

I don’t know why I am surprised.

I don’t get attention for my looks, average and plain.

I don’t get attention for my personality, weird, boring.

I don’t get positive attention, maybe the negative attention

Just the once would be what I so desperately crave. Someone actually noticing me.

My friend who is the target of their cat calls rolls her eyes and keeps on walking as if it doesn’t effect her.

As if it happens all the time.

Oh wait, it does.

art
Like

About the Creator

KK245

Be , what you are!!!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.