Poets logo

assault.

this poem exhibits some of the thoughts and emotions that i’ve had regarding my own SA.

By zoe frenchmanPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
5

the most pitiful feeling that came with my assault;

was the false notion that it was my all my fault;

i’ve pondered about what i could have done differently;

even though that i’m aware rationally;

that the trauma was unavoidable entirely;

i still see the image of his perverted smile;

and for an extensive while;

i was in considerable denial;

denial as heavy as a ton of bricks;

denial as powerful as several kicks;

right in the gut, mind, and heart;

and the eventual realization utterly ripped me apart;

the anguish that went along with this event;

stuck in my memory like sturdy cement;

when i thoroughly realized that i did not consent;

i drowned in sorrow and tormenting lament;

and my positivity went into a rapid descent;

i was coerced into having intercourse;

invoking my feelings of self-remorse;

i’ve blamed myself for my his violation;

and his gaslighting and manipulation;

and his palpable desire for predation;

he pulled downs his pants while i was blatantly apathetic;

the perpetrator was miles away from empathetic;

and i still hear his ceaseless beseeching;

and i feel myself strenuously reaching;

for my courage, strength, and liberation;

and the conspicuous sensation;

of freedom from my resentment and vexation;

i’ve dealt with this trauma for two years;

along with it came an avalanche of tears;

the sound of my distress ringing in my ears;

and a broad spectrum of worries and fears;

i hope that my agony begins to dissipate;

i hope that i can let go of this heavy, emotional weight;

i hope that the effects begin to abate;

i hope that one day, i’m no longer inclined to fixate;

on the adverse perspective of my potential fate;

and i genuinely cannot wait;

for the day that the damage that this event has caused;

and the cycle of destruction that’s never been paused;

can decisively abrogate;

and i can lessen the portion on my plate;

and i can finally increase my ability to think straight;

and i have realized that it is never too late;

to utilize my experiences to advocate;

for those who feel as if they don’t have a voice;

for those felt like they didn’t have a choice;

and they can revel in total rejoice;

the day that they feel well enough;

to be released from the handcuff;

that ties them to each sensation of that moment;

each feeling of hostility, shame, and torment;

survivors of this type of abuse must stick together;

in an attempt to mitigate that stormy weather;

and to minimize the impact of the recollection;

and finally begin moving towards the direction;

of a mindset of increased affection.

sad poetry
5

About the Creator

zoe frenchman

I’m Zoe, I’m 21, and I’m an aspiring writer, filmmaker, musician, & mental health advocate. I’m a poet and content writer currently enrolled in the Creative Writing BFA program at Full Sail U!

LinkTree (all social and professional links)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Arbab2 years ago

    Amazing

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.