Poets logo

As it Was

Times are changing and things once familiar are becoming unrecognizable

By A. NguyenPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
As it Was
Photo by Caspar Camille Rubin on Unsplash

As time goes on you grow further,

the colors I adored slowly bleeding out.

What used to be intimate chats

sharing music, singing together,

offering advice, words of comfort…

Are now complex games of

teasing, people pleasing, and

a forced sense of obligation.

You never changed though.

That warm boyish grin,

glittering eyes when you talk

about your boys,

your shy nervous laughter,

all the same…

but there was a shift.

As your audience grew

So did their demands,

unrealistic expectations

they wanted you to fill.

It became less personal

more catering… and the distance

expanded, almost unbearably so.

My desperate chase to see you, hear you

slowed as the pieces behind the mask

became scarce, denying my thirst

to know you… in turn, killing a piece of me.

Your back that was within my sights

Is nothing more than a speck in the distance now.

Nothing is the same as it was

Let’s hope my heart can keep up

because my brain has already given up.

The familiar comfort you offered me

is like a time traveler's tangent,

it exists somewhere we

can't go back to anymore.

sad poetrysocial commentary
Like

About the Creator

A. Nguyen

A writer at heart who wants to share my works. I want to evoke emotion in people when they read my writing but I won't ever know if I can, if I don't put anything out into the world so this is my first step :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.