Poets logo

As a POC Scholar

For all minorities who face an oppressor day to day.

By DopeMannn JayPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The mind in the life of a minority

A POC Scholar

As a scholar

Through my problems

Controversy

Seemed to triumph

Till one day

I made a change

The world turnt cold

A fadeaway

and miss yo shot

then go away

I made my block

My home to stay

My fam all worried

In my face

like can you please

just give me space

I cannot breath

Im falling deep

I tried to find

the light in me

Im reaching down

past memories

To get my soul

back up to speed

Lesson on lessons

Papers and labs and

non existent parties

that make you do dumb things

to let out that anger

frustration

containing emotions

seems heavy lately

The atmospheric pressure

of a POC at a W.H.I.T.

Lets not forget the E Institution

Allways being aware of

Always being scared of

Always being mad at

Always being looked at

When does it stop?

Our own people have died

Time and time again

And everytime I put up a sign

I see my life flash beyond my eyes

See a flashlight hit my spine

And now...

As a scholar

Im crippled

I let my inside get the best

So my outside got the worst

and worst part of that is that

I fell victim to the board

With my name on the card

I don’t want to see no more

But I want to see

I want to see a nation undivided

I wanna see opportunities in equity

Yea equity, not equally

I think we’ve been considered equal enough

I know my people, are stronger than was

I know my color means I am who I am and no damage is done

I know my thoughts reflect my trama

But I also know my trama makes me strong

I am ME

I am POC

I am different

I am a beast

Nd in the mirror

I see beauty in me

My brothers and sisters

They are amazing to be

I am a scholar

A scholar whose worth is known

I am a scholar

Who can make difference in the world

I am a scholar

That worries about my own

I am a scholar

With life ahead and stars above

I am a POC scholar

And I Am Proud

Of My Color

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.