Poets logo

Are you rich?

Because I am, in the best way possible

By Lucy Dan (she/her/她)Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Are you rich?
Photo by Visual Stories || Micheile on Unsplash

If you ask if I am rich,

I can confidently answer — I have enough.

Enough so that I’m not

living paycheck to paycheck;

and I can even

begin to save up some money

while treating myself from time to time.

I am fortunate enough

to have found hobbies

that generate passive income for me:

to create artsy and funny stickers,

to dump my endless thoughts and poems

They call these

passion gigs

and that fits so perfectly for me.

Sure, I’m not rich enough

to throw money at problems

to solve them…

a surprising blessing in disguise.

In scarcity comes the creativity

of solving problems with limited resources:

from my personally fashioned cardboard n keycap,

to growing my own food scraps,

to coffee tin compost bins,

there are no bounds

to the flexibility

of creating, but also of learning

the inner workings of the world,

how a toilet truly functions,

the anatomy of a keyboard.

I am not wealthy, no

not for money at least.

Instead my pockets are full of

innovation, hilarious stories, and gratitude.

***

Lucy (The Egg Girl) found meaning in life when she stopped chasing the numbers ($$) and letters (grades) that measure and restrict the true bounds of who we are. She learned to write to have fun, and to express the messages she most wants the world to hear and that has made all the difference in her life. Feel free to hop on poetry prompts she creates here.

Poem first published here.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Lucy Dan (she/her/她)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.