Poets logo

Appreciate The Little Things

Cos You Never Know When They'll Be Gone.

By Erin ShieldsPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
2
Image by Olivia Marié from Pixabay

My child,

if I could go back,

I'd go to when

you were only ten.

I'd tell you what

I couldn't back then.

Not through words spoken,

not some cheap token -

meant to show my devotion.

Rather a show and tell

lends itself quite well:

We'd sit in the park up until dark.

Listening, we'd hear dogs bark,

kids laughing, parents shouting.

It was like any other outing.

But this time was different,

I made sure to take it all in.

Appreciate every little thing -

because I know now,

what I didn't back then

when you were only ten.

As we sat in the sun, watching everyone.

I'd plait your hair, taking extra care.

Knowing one day it'd all be gone.

I'd take you back home,

after the day was done.

We'd stay up, later than usual.

I'd treat you to sweets

and steal plenty of cuddles.

I'd make sure you knew

how much I loved you.

You meant so much to me,

if only I could've seen

what was meant to be.

I'd have treated every day,

as if it was our last

Together

Because I know now

what I didn't back then.

My child,

you were only ten.

- Erin 30th July 2020

All Copyrights belong to me do not use my work or re-post anywhere else without my permission.

love poems
2

About the Creator

Erin Shields

27. England. Poet. I have Bipolar, BPD & Anxiety. I’ve been writing since I was 18 as an outlet for my mental health.

I also have a Ko-Fi with more of my work: https://ko-fi.com/erin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.