Poets logo

Antifreeze

A Poem

By Eric B. HunterPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2

I think I’m losing my mind.

Rain falls on my parade,

Every day.

Syrup only reminds me of antifreeze.

Give me lobotomy

Give me death

Give me Peace

from the gravel that

Rattles in my head.

But maybe the cure is in the sweetness?

Not the antifreeze.

Not the bitter taste

of disappointment

When the syrup

turns out poisoned.

It is in searching for that sweetness

despite the fear

of poison.

It is smelling the syrup,

thinking it maple.

I think I’m losing my mind.

I think I will find it again,

tomorrow.

inspirationalsad poetry
2

About the Creator

Eric B. Hunter

E.B. spends his nights crafting stories. He hopes to portray people as they are, flawed humans capable of great and terrible things.

See more and sign up for his newsletter at:

https://ebhunterauthor.wordpress.com/link-in-bio/

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Aphoticabout a year ago

    Had a coolant leak once…car eternally smelled like maple syrup with a touch of chemical…I’ve been looking for my mind as well. So far no progress. When(if) I find it it’s definitely getting a lobotomy.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.