Poets logo

Anthem of the After-Hour

A leitmotif of self-discovery

By Evie DenisonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Image by Larisa Koshkina from Pixabay.

Sing me a song of the setting sun,

as the moon begins to rise,

where the timbre of the darkness

syncopates with fireflies.

Then let me sit in stillness

until the dark around me flows

through a mind that seldom travels

where the heart, repeated, goes.

It's here that I'll find solace

and the truest form of me

away from life's dictations

of who I'm meant to be.

Though Sleep may never find me,

Rest and Dreams will make their way

and we'll rehearse a future

put on pause by light of day.

May the night be ever friendly

to those who seem to thrive

not among the day's distractions,

but in nature, the most alive.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Evie Denison

Poetry is the most fun when it is paired with a striking image. Join me in an appreciation of all things unconventionally beautiful, especially in the world of dark academia and storytelling. Instagram: @darkivyevie.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.