Poets logo

Another Poem About Roots

Where am I from?

By Hailey NarvaezPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I am from Beanie babies

from babbling and blasphemed Bedside Baptist.

I am from quizzical eyes biting a silent tongue

(icy, knowing the world will be unfolded,

Smoothed creaseless.)

I am from the ‘pink fluff tree’ whose arms held me

When I saw my childhood dog bereft of life

And the mossy stones bearing a rickety cross

That marked her being after.

I’m from up-heres and over-theres

Where a deer stand marked the fork in the road

From Soccer Dots’ trophies covered by pom-poms

To backwards plumes to mitigate nerves.

I am from a stork’s flight

Whose wings were propelled by exhales of ‘spitting image’.

From Christmas lights illuminating dynasty

Joy re-blazed again each year.

I am from ‘Banana Pancakes’ and Baker Koonce

From the backscratcher that tersely companioned my backside

leaving moral lessons lined in red.

I’m from 5-o-clock-somewheres

and Strawberry Wine.

I’m from ‘Dawgs, transitioning with idle hate

To the Alma Mater, speeding her praises onward.

A sprout shooting upward, I root myself in this world.

But still swaying in the wind,

Budding and blossoming,

I make my own place on the branch.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Hailey Narvaez

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.