Poets logo

Another Day Another Robbery

Comparisons

By Dakota ThomasPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

Another day another Robbery

The door is wide open

And he comes in just as I expected

Because I’m the one who always leaves the door open

Because I’m the one who is addicted to letting him have what he wants

Which isn’t the TVs or anything I value

But the thing deep inside me

That’s according to everybody you can’t buy

My joy

Smiles, smirks, laughter, and cartwheels

He takes it all and puts it in his safe

At least I’m not the only one who doesn’t

Scream or object to this

I’ve heard it’s so easy to stop him

From coming in

They don’t tell me how

Just tell me to close my door

Until I figure it how

Another day another robbery

Comparison steals my joy

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Dakota Thomas

Hi I’m Dakota I love music especially hip hop and R&B. One of my favorite things to do is annotate on genius

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.