Poets logo

Another Bottle

A Poem About an Alcoholic Father

By Christine WilsonPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

Scattered bottles on the ground,

Your dirted hands reaching out,

But I dont want to breathe,

The airs too thick and toxic,

Your bloodshot eyes paralyzing,

No time to cry, just to hand you another bottle,

Your tongue is sharper than a knife,

Cutting deep into my life,

And I forget how to breathe again,

Flickering days in blurried lines,

Forgetting names every time,

Your blame takes a shinning light,

As you plunge angry fire into my sight,

And I refuse to breathe,

Distant gazes to believe her lies,

Another bottle to prove her right,

Your lashes wound me deep,

And I can no longer breathe,

The airs too dank, filled with your tears,

As you say you're sorry for all those years,

And yet another bottle goes and the cycle repeats,

So I refuse to breathe.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.